“Aren’t You The One?”

Matthew 10:32 NKJV [Confess Christ before Men] “Therefore whoever confesses me before men, him I will also confess before My Father who is in heaven.

She had been eagerly preparing for the yearly celebration of Passover. She was overjoyed with thoughts of the peace and serenity involved in every phase of the upcoming feast. She was awed with the huge crowds from all over the country coming together with one common purpose. She, as a doorkeeper of the temple would see people of great importance pass as they were ushered into the temple.

Many tumultuous things had been happening in town for the last couple of days. She had even seen some of the so-called rebels near the temple with large crowds following them. There was one man in particular that had been causing most of the problems. However, this was about to stop because he and another man had just been ushered through her door and into the courtyard. He was to be tried this night before the leaders and it didn’t look too good for him.

There was another man, a big burley man that didn’t go in with them, he just stood outside the door and waited. Then the man accompanying the one that was to be tried came back and asked if the big man could also come in—she allowed him to enter. That was when she recognized him. He was one of the men that had been with the man they called Jesus, the one causing all the problems. She asked him, Wasn’t it you that I saw earlier with this Jesus?” “Aren’t you the one? He dropped his head and said, “No, I am not,” but she knew it really was him. Why would he lie?

The credit card machine was on the blink and only worked about half the time, but everyone in line was being patient with her. That is, with the exception of one man. He was very irritated and it was obvious, he twisted, turned and mumbled under his breath. She hurried as fast as she could because he was making the other customers uncomfortable with his bad actions and attitude. Finally, he was next in line and he was boiling. She humbley apologized for the inconvenience but that was not enough for him. He had to make a statement; he had to prove a point for all to hear. He said, “Lady, you have no idea the trouble you’ve caused me; I’m going to be late for a very important meeting.” Once again, she said, “I’m so sorry sir,” but all she heard was a, “yea, I bet you are.”

She told him that she would be praying that he would make it to his meeting on time. He gave her a strange and shameful look. She asked him, “Aren’t you the one, the minister that shared at the high school graduation services last May?” I was there with my daughter. I remember because you talked about love and how it would never fail, never misbehave or get aggravated. Aren’t you the one? He dropped his head and said, “No, it wasn’t me.” Nevertheless, she knew it was him. Why would he lie?

Luke 12:8 NKJV [ Confess Christ Before Men ] “Also I say to you, whoever confesses Me before men, him the Son of Man also will confess before the angels of God.

  Pastor Hal Steenson

One thought on ““Aren’t You The One?”

  1. Hi Hal,
    God has given you a great gift of being able to paint a very vivid picture. Gazing at this picture you have shown this morning has touched my heart, and I weep as I write. How I love my gentle, loving Savior, for we all have stood with the big fisherman as he cried out, ” No, it wasn’t me “, and He with tears said,
    ” Father forgive them, they do not know what they do.”
    With His Love, and mine,’ Dixie

Comments are closed.